No. 11/13/2019-M.I [E] Government of India Ministry of Mines

Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi Date: 27.05.2025

NATIONAL GEOSCIENCE AWARDS 2024

LIST OF AWARDEES

NATIONAL GEOSCIENCE AWARD FOR LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT 2024

(Single Award)

Prof. Shyam Sundar Rai

Senior Scientist, INSA &

Visiting Professor, IISER, Pune

NATIONAL GEOSCIENCE AWARD 2024 (Ten Awards)

SECTION I: Mineral Discovery & Exploration (3 Awards)

 Field (i): Mineral Discovery & Exploration (excluding fossil fuels) of economic and/or strategic importance and application of innovative techniques. Out of the two awards in the field, at least one shall be given for critical minerals. (2 Awards) 1. Geological Survey of India (GSI) team comprising of (i) Shri Haraman Mahanta, Senior Geologist, (ii) Shri Utpol Kumar Das, Senior Geologist, (iii) Shri Syam Kumar Sangamreddi, Senior Geologist, and (iv) Shri Sai Kumar Samala, Geologist 	Team Award
2. Geological Survey of India (GSI) team comprising of	
(i) Shri Navjeet Singh Nayyar, Director,	Team
(ii) Shri Amit Kumar, Senior Geologist,	Award
(iii) Ms. Tripti Baba, Senior Geologist, and	
(iv) Dr. Sandeep Kumar , Geologist	

Field (ii): Coal, Lignite and Coal Bed Methane Discovery & Exploration of economic and/or strategic importance and application of innovative techniques and Oil, Natural Gas, Shale Gas and Gas Hydrates Discovery & Exploration (including project development and planning leading to exploitation of resource and reservoir management). (1 Award)	
 Geological Survey of India (GSI) team comprising of (i) Smt. Sradhanjali Subhadarshini, Superintending Geologist, (ii) Shri Supriya Chakraborty, Senior Geologist, and (iii) Shri Jaydip Mukherjee, Director 	Team Award
SECTION II: Mining Technology, Mineral Beneficiation & Susta Development (2 Awards)	ainable Mineral
 Field (iii): Mining Technology including development and application of new methods and technologies, research & development. Conservation of mineral resources, systematic mine planning, mine safety, mine fires, mine hazards, mine reclamation & rehabilitation. (1 Award) Dr. Jai Krishna Pandey Chief Scientist, CSIR-Central Institute of Mining and Fuel Research, Dhanbad 	Individual Award
Field (iv): Mineral Beneficiation (including mineral processing, project development for utilization of low-grade ores & production of value-added mineral products and mineral economics) and Sustainable Mineral Development (including mine closure, project development, institutional development and capacity building). (1 Award) Dr. Ranjeet Kumar Singh Principal Scientist, CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory, Jamshedpur	Individual Award

SECTION III: Basic Geosciences (2 Awards)	
 Field (v): Basic Geosciences including Stratigraphy, Structural Geology, Paleontology, Geodynamics, Geochemistry, geochronology and Isotope Geology, Ocean Development (Oceanography and Marine Geology), Glaciology and Arctic & Antarctic Research including Geoscientific Expeditions: and science surveys/baseline geoscience data collection including Geological and Geochemical mapping & survey and Systematic Thematic mapping. (2 Awards) 1. Dr. Vedula Venkata Subrahmanya Srinivasa Sarma Chief Scientist, CSIR-National Institute of Oceanography, Regional Centre, Visakhapatnam 	Individual Award
2. Dr. Mekala Ram Mohan Chief Scientist, CSIR-National Geophysical Research Institute, Hyderabad SECTION IV: Applied Geosciences (3 Awards)	Individual Award
Field (vi): Applied Geology: Engineering Geology, Geothermal Energy, Seismotectonics, Geostatistics, Remote Sensing and Geo-Information System (including spatial data management applications and data integration); Groundwater Exploration (including project development, hydrogeological studies and management of groundwater resources; Geo- Environmental Studies relating to mining, urban, industrial, coastal and desert management, paleoclimate, paleoenvironment, medical geology, climate change and studies related to their impact on ecosystem. (1 Award) Prof. Ghulam Jeelani	Individual
Professor, Dept. of Earth Sciences and Dean, School of Earth & Environmental Sciences, University of Kashmir	Individual Award

Field (vii): Geophysics / Applied Geophysics: New Technologies in geophysical exploration, application of geophysical methods, geo- magnetism, geophysical survey techniques and instrumentation.	
(1 Award) Prof. Sanjit Kumar Pal Professor & Head, Department of Applied Geophysics, IIT (ISM), Dhanbad	Individual Award
 Field (viii): Natural Hazard Investigation including scientific studies related to natural hazards such as earthquakes, landslides, floods and tsunamis. (1 Award) Prof. Mukat Lal Sharma Professor, Earthquake Engineering and Head, International Center of Excellence for Dams, IIT-Roorkee 	Individual Award
NATIONAL YOUNG GEOSCIENTIST AWARD 2024 (Single A	ward)
Shri Susobhan Neogi Senior Geologist, Geological Survey of India	
